— Menu

THIS DAY IN METAL

Subscribe

Home

News

Features

Album Reviews

This Day In Metal

Interviews

Rankings

Shop

ALBUM REVIEWS

Flashback Album Review: Accept - I'm a Rebel







JUNE 02 2023 • 7:43 PM

2 MIN READ • Q 0 SHARE ✓

7 m a Rebel is the second studio album of the German heavy metal band, Accept.

The album wasn't a commercial hit, but it has a 70s-ending hard-rock feeling. Lyrics deal mostly with rebellion, speed, and heartbreak. The songs have catchy guitar riffs and solos. The album is short but powerful.

The line-up was **Udo Dirkschneider** (vocals), **Wolf Hoffmann** (guitars), **Jörg Fischer** (guitars), **Peter Baltes** (bass guitar and vocals on "No Time to Lose" and "The King"), and **Stefan Kaufmann** (drums).

Subscribe



The album starts with *I'm a Rebel*, the track that gave its name to. It was written by **George Alexander**, whose real name is **Alex Young** (brother of **Angus** and **Malcolm Young** from **AC/DC**). This song was for the Australian band, but they didn't want it, so **Accept** recorded it.



Another hard rock song with a killer riff and guitar solo is Save Us. Same with Thunder and Lighting, a perfect song for driving down the highway.

A couple of ballads, sung by the bassist **Peter Baltes**, are *No Time to Lose*, about feeling lonely after a breakup and The King, that tells the story of a man that chose the wrong path, the criminal life. He is no longer the king. He lives outside the society, ostracized. Peter has a lovely voice that works perfectly for these types of songs.

China Lady, an equivalent to Iron Maiden's Charlotte the Harlot, is about a lady of the night, dirty love.

Two rock love songs are I Wanna Be No Hero and Do It. This last one is my favorite track of the album. sick riff.

The album wasn't a commercial success, according to his former singer **Udo Dirkschneider**, because the band hadn't found his identity yet. Their situation improved major with their next album, **Breaker**. However, I think that **I'm a Rebel** has some great tracks.

Rating: 6/10

Release Date: June 2nd, 1980

Released By: Brain Metronome GmbH

FFO: Grave Digger, Running Wild, Primal Fear

Track Listing

- 1. I'm A Rebel
- 2. Save Us
- 3. No Time To Lose
- 4. Thunder & Lightning
- 5. China Lady
- 6. I Wanna Be No Hero
- 7. The King
- 8. Do It

ADVERTISEMENT

FEATURED